New NFPA Board Members

The National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) has two new board members, Russell P. Fleming and Joseph Bhatia.

Fleming has contributed to NFPA's codes and standards for more than 20 years, and has served as a member of NFPA's Standards Council since 1986. In addition to his current position as VP of engineering at the National Fire Sprinkler Association (NFSA), Fleming is an adjunct associate professor for Worcester Polytechnic Institute's Center for Firesafety Studies. He also serves as fire protection engineer for the town of Kent in Carmel, NY.

Bhatia is executive VP and COO of the International Group for Underwriters Laboratories Inc. He has been active in the Association of Internal Management Consultants, Standards Engineering Society, and American Management Association. He also has served on various committees for the American National Standards Institute, the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers, and the American Society of Electroplated Plastics.

NFPA's Board of Directors is as follows: Herman W. Brice, chair; Martin H. Reiss, first vice chair; Professor David A. Lucht, second vice chair; Paul M. Fitzgerald, treasurer; Jan Gratton, secretary; G. Richard Morris, past chair; George Miller; Corinne Broderick; Warren E. McDaniels; Robin Paulsgrove; Dan Bailey; Mary Corso; Thomas W. Jaeger, PE; George Ockuly; Gail P. Norstrom, Jr.; Vincent Bollon; Philip C. Stittleburg; Sultan M. Javeri; Douglas Pendergras; Lamar Labauve; Russell P. Fleming; and Joseph Bhatia.